Friday, September 3, 2010

The History of TF

Transformers is a Hasbro toy line centered on two factions of warring alien robots. In its 26-year history, the toyline has expanded to encompass comic books, animation, video games and movies.

Line Transformer
1 Transformers: Generation 1 (1984–1994)
1.1 Transformers: Generation 2 (1993–1995)
1.2 Beast Wars/Machines (1996–2001)
2 Robots in Disguise (2000–2001)
3 The Unicron Trilogy (2001–2006)
4 Transformers: Universe (2003–present)
5 Film franchise (2007–present)
6 Transformers Animated (2007 - 2009 / 2010)
7 Hunt for the Decepticons (2010-present)
8 Transformers: Prime/War for Cybertron (2010-present)

Transformers: G1 includes both the animated television series The Transformers and the Marvel Comics comic-book series of the same name, which is further divided into Japanese and British spin-offs, respectively.
Sequels followed, such as the Generation 2 comic book and Beast Wars TV series, which became its own mini-universe. Generation 1 characters underwent two reboots with Dreamwave in 2001 and IDW Publishing in 2005, also as a remastered series. There have been other incarnations of the story based on different toy lines during after 20th-Century.
The first was the Robots in Disguise series, followed by three shows that consist of the "Unicron Trilogy" (consisting of Armada, Energon, and Cybertron). A live-action film was also released in 2007 and a sequel has since been released in 2009, again distinct from previous incarnations, while the Transformers Animated series merged concepts from the G1 story-arc, the 2007 live-action film and "Unicron Trilogy".